New this month – DeeLyn Walsh


Deelyn banner

Go bold this spring with DeeLyn’s tactile, sculptural objects that adorn the body. Her work is often playfully interactive, evoking curiosity and creating a unique connection between object and wearer. Geometric patterns, architectural structure and repetitive forms come together to create a bold wearable collection.

We asked DeeLyn some questions to find out a bit more about her and her jewellery, read on…


DeeLyn WalshDescribe your work in 3 words?
Geometric. Architectural. Sculptural.

What made you decide to be a jewellery designer?
I had a background in woodworking/restoration when I decided to do a design degree in the UK with the intention of focusing on furniture design. I had worked with metal on a much larger scale but when I began the course I was introduced to finer silversmithing and metal-smithing techniques. The process of making this way, combined with the challenge of designing for the body wooed me.


bangle borb_1_72If you weren’t a jewellery designer what do you think you would be?

If i were not a jeweller… Tough one. I’d love to be an architect, but I probably wouldn’t have been one. Maybe something in interior design and/or a professionally organiser. Not sure if that last one exists, but I do LOVE a bit of storage & organisation solutions!

Image: Orbit Bangle – £210


Deelyn commission

What’s the most exciting piece you have ever made?

The renowned jewellery collector, Tuan Lee commissioned a massive neckpiece which could have also been used as body armour. Not including the collar it was 42cm long x 25cm wide and made of hinged silver pyramid components that moved with the body like enlarged fancy chain mail. There was one component which was made from resin and magnetically interchangeable so you could change the colour to your liking.

Image: Commissioned Neckpiece


What tool can you not live without?Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 12.27.21.png

My Micro-flame welder machine has proven indispensable through the years. My previous collection was recycled materials, including steel, so nothing could go in the acid. The teeny weeny flame from this enabled me to heat just what I needed without causing oxidation on too much off the surrounding area. I use it for as much as possible really.

Image: Earrings made from recycled guitar strings


ring rstra_72How do you relax after a day in the studio?

Relax?… Unfortunately there isn’t much time to relax when balancing work and my 4 year old daughter. I make sure to get home in time to reconnect with her and my husband for a bit before getting her to bed. I try to squeeze some yoga in, but then it’s often back to work. Admin is all the more bearable paired with a nice Rioja!

Image: Strata Angle ring – £160


Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 12.34.35.png

If you could choose anyone to wear your jewellery, who would it be?
Bjork! I find pretty much everything about her magical & awe-inspiring, and her style is just so timelessly sublime. She is on your mailing list, right?

Image of Bjork from own website


Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 12.40.12.png

If you could own a piece by another maker in any discipline, no price limit, what would it be?
Any Junko Mori piece. Junko was my first maker crush and I still get a little woozy when I see her work.

Image from Mori’s own website

 


DEELYNS BLOG LINK

This entry was posted in Designers Q&A, lovedazzle jeweller and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

